This board has been transferred to www.wsc.co.uk,

    why not join us there

One Touch Football - Archive   
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» One Touch Football - Archive » Football » Offside - Keith Hackett puts us right

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Offside - Keith Hackett puts us right
statto99
Member
Member # 82

 - posted      Profile for statto99     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote:
To be clear, the definition, in the laws, is this: in deciding whether to flag, assistants must watch out for three things, any one of which would make an offside player active.

First, is the offside player interfering with play? As advised by the IFAB since 2005, that means playing or touching the ball. Attempting to play the ball does not count - he must actually play or touch it.

Second, is the player interfering with an opponent's ability to play the ball, by clearly obstructing the opponent's line of vision or movements, or by making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent?

And third, is the player 'gaining an advantage'? This last point is specific, and is not what Match of the Day seem to think it is. It applies only to an offside player playing a ball that rebounds to him from an opponent, the post or the crossbar. If he does not play the ball from the rebound, then he is not penalised for being in that offside position. Nothing else counts as 'gaining'.

And that's it. If a player ticks any one of those three boxes, he is offside. The three-part definition is remembered as 'PIG' - if a player doesn't Play, Interfere or Gain, he is fine.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/comment/story/0,,2267604,00.html
Posts: 6605 | From: the Mission Bell to the Deep Blue Sea | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Phoebe Disco
Member
Member # 46

 - posted      Profile for Phoebe Disco     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Someone should tell the Championship linesmen. They flag as soon as the ball is kicked, and in the vast majority of cases it's not interfering with the opponent.
Posts: 14959 | From: the heart of a deviancy amplification spiral | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
rick derris
Member
Member # 1115

 - posted      Profile for rick derris     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
david jones had a huge go at a linesman after he flagged for offside from a throw yesterday
Posts: 4512 | From: bat country | Registered: Jan 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Rogin the Armchair fan
Member
Member # 683

 - posted      Profile for Rogin the Armchair fan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The first point seems to imply there is a distinction between "playing" the ball and "touching" it. What's that then? Is "playing" the ball, say, positinoing yourself so you can touch it? It's clearly important, because merely "attempting" to "play" the ball does not count.

So if "playing" the ball does not involve "touching" it, how the fuck can a referee judge if anyone was "attempting" to sort of get near it? Of course they were trying to sort of get near it. That's why they were offside to start with.

And the explanation of "interfering" just gets muddier and muddier all the time. How can any player in an offside position be said to be not, in some way, distracting a defender? Especially a defender worried that said offside player might be deemed onside if the ball comes back off the keeper?

Posts: 15858 | From: this corner of the bar you can only see half of the big screen | Registered: Aug 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Croute au fromage et oeuf au plat
Member
Member # 19

 - posted      Profile for Croute au fromage et oeuf au plat     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This situation came up a few weeks ago during Sion-Basel, Sion (in white) scored and Basel argued that it was offside as their played indicated by the black arrow was not playing. Ref told them that unless he was out because the ref told him to leave the pitch, he was still part of the play.

 -

Posts: 16714 | From: Outskirts of Manchester | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
and I am the life
Member
Member # 227

 - posted      Profile for and I am the life     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
david jones had a huge go at a linesman after he flagged for offside from a throw yesterday

That is a dreadful mistake to make.

Posts: 19996 | From: the crespo of a wave | Registered: Jun 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
boris
Member
Member # 80

 - posted      Profile for boris     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My interpretation of the difference between playing and touching the ball is that playing is deliberate, while touching could be accidental.

And Fromage, the ref in your case was absolutely correct. Unless the player has left the pitch with permission of the ref to receive treatment (or whatever) then he is considered an active part of play. If he has left the pitch deliberately in order to try and play an opponent into an offside position, then he should be booked for leaving the field of play without permission.

Posts: 8617 | From: the safe house | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Fitter Happier
Member
Member # 172

 - posted      Profile for Fitter Happier     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote:
david jones had a huge go at a linesman after he flagged for offside from a throw yesterday
I remember Real Madrid getting thumped about 5-1 in a cup semi-final (by Zaragoza?) a few years back, and Sergio Ramos (I think) went mad claiming offside from a throw in.
Posts: 2717 | From: her to eternity | Registered: Jun 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
blackdogbeak
Member
Member # 12747

 - posted      Profile for blackdogbeak     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote:
If he has left the pitch deliberately in order to try and play an opponent into an offside position, then he should be booked for leaving the field of play without permission.
Someone else read 'You Are The Ref' in the Observer, then? (wink wink.)

I liked the first one, about the keeper coming up for a corner.

Posts: 651 | From: the muddy banks of the irwell | Registered: Jan 2008  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
   

   Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | WSC

Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classic™ 6.7.2

    This board has been transferred to www.wsc.co.uk,

    why not join us there