This board has been transferred to www.wsc.co.uk,

    why not join us there

One Touch Football - Archive   
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» One Touch Football - Archive » Sport » 8-ball pool rules. And why no-one can agree on what they are! (Page 1)

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!   This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: 8-ball pool rules. And why no-one can agree on what they are!
Rogin the Armchair fan
Member
Member # 683

 - posted      Profile for Rogin the Armchair fan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
How do you play pool then? Off the break, someone pots a yellow (or "stripe", say, on an American table). Is it still a free table, ie they can freely play for any other ball they like? Do they have to nominate one set or the other having potted one, and do they get a choice - or do they have to stick with the set they've potted one of?

And when it gets to one player on the black (8-ball). Is it just one shot on the black, regardless of whether the previous player has just fouled on their go? Or two shots as with any other point in the game? Or one shot only if BOTH players are on the black? Or, indeed, snooker rules, where if the black's the last ball up, and you go in-off and pot the white, you lose, even if the black's still on the table?

Rather like Cadbury Creme Eggs, how do you play yours?

Posts: 15858 | From: this corner of the bar you can only see half of the big screen | Registered: Aug 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
E10Rifle
Member
Member # 34

 - posted      Profile for E10Rifle     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Two on the black*, and if you pot on your break, you stay with that colour unless you potted one (or more) of each.

*Unless you're playing with the pub psycho, who later in the evening - fuelled by zambuka and cocaine - will buttonhole you with "anecdotes" about his years in the army and in prison, as I was in my mate's local in Clapton on Friday night.

Posts: 12564 | From: The bus lane | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Mr. Wind-Up Bird
Member
Member # 1176

 - posted      Profile for Mr. Wind-Up Bird     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Pool's played very differently in bars in Texas than in the UK. A pot off the break means you can still play for what you like. This is the only time you can pot a ball without calling your shot. On every other turn, you state which ball, which pocket and how. If you pot the ball, but it kisses off another ball that you did not call (for example), the ball stays down but it's the other player's go.

There is no such thing as "two shots" - if you foul, your opponent takes over, as after a normal shot.

Posts: 664 | From: The bottom of the well, holding a baseball bat | Registered: Mar 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Rogin the Armchair fan
Member
Member # 683

 - posted      Profile for Rogin the Armchair fan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Don't you have "ball in hand" as a rule in the US, as opposed to "two shots", after a foul - ie you can pick the cue ball up and place it anywhere on the table and continue with just one shot? I actually like that rule, and have encouraged mates of mine to play it when we're playing pool over here.
Posts: 15858 | From: this corner of the bar you can only see half of the big screen | Registered: Aug 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
E10Rifle
Member
Member # 34

 - posted      Profile for E10Rifle     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The whole 'name your pocket' thing is rubbish. One of the great things about pool - as a game played casually in pubs, often under varying degrees of alcoholic influence - is that has a very high flukey-win potential. It's far more, to coin a cliche, a great leveller than most other games. That you can often compile a handy break by smacking it randomly against the cushions on the off-chance you might get a fortunate in-off or double is part of the charm.
Posts: 12564 | From: The bus lane | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Mighty Mudhsuden
Member
Member # 1072

 - posted      Profile for Mighty Mudhsuden     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Two owls are playing pool. Owl #1 pots the white so owl #2 says "two hits."

Owl #1 replies "two hits to who?"

Posts: 2061 | From: Hackensack... is that all you get for your money? | Registered: Nov 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
My name is Mumpo
Member
Member # 551

 - posted      Profile for My name is Mumpo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
What's with all this 'you have to play forward from the baulk line when you've put the white back in baulk after your opponent's potted it' nonsense, too?
Posts: 23475 | Registered: Feb 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
hobbes
Member
Member # 28

 - posted      Profile for hobbes     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If you pot from the break, you stay that colour unless you pot one of each, then you can choose. If the white goes down on the break, the other person gets to choose. If you pot the black AND ONLY THE BLACK from the break, you win the game.
2 shots for a foul and you can pick up the ball if you want and place it behind the line. You still get 2 shots. You may hit an opponents ball with the first of a 2 shot penalty (free ball) and if you pot an opponents ball it counts as a normal pot i.e. you don't use up a shot.
You only get one shot on the black irrespective. If the you foul on the black it's 2 shots to the opponent unless you pot the black too. (ie potting one of their balls or the white AND the black.)
Oh and if 2 balls don't hit cushions from the break it's a re-spot.

Posts: 12499 | From: East of Ealing | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
E10Rifle
Member
Member # 34

 - posted      Profile for E10Rifle     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote:
2 shots for a foul and you can pick up the ball if you want and place it behind the line
Wrong, wrong, wrong. Only if you go in-off and consequently have to respot the cue ball should that be an option. Otherwise, play from where you are.
Posts: 12564 | From: The bus lane | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
hobbes
Member
Member # 28

 - posted      Profile for hobbes     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Those are Southern Counties League rules.
Posts: 12499 | From: East of Ealing | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
ursus arctos
Member
Member # 1452

 - posted      Profile for ursus arctos     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Pretty much everything you've discussed would be unintelligible to the standard American bar player.

Mention "baulks", "potting" or "two hits" in Mr. Wind-up Bird-land and you may end up with a cue broken over your head.

Posts: 18670 | From: mediolanum | Registered: Jan 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
My name is Mumpo
Member
Member # 551

 - posted      Profile for My name is Mumpo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
On top of all these rules, if there's no diagram near the table you need to remember how to rack the balls. A glance at the English Pool Association website reveals the correct order:

 -

Or, left to right from the apex of the traingle, RYRR YYRY RRYY RY

[ 03.03.2008, 16:22: Message edited by: Major Eazy ]

Posts: 23475 | Registered: Feb 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
hobbes
Member
Member # 28

 - posted      Profile for hobbes     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The bottom row is wrong.
From the left, the 3rd and 4th balls should be reversed, thusly.

 -

[ 03.03.2008, 16:34: Message edited by: hobbes ]

Posts: 12499 | From: East of Ealing | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
hobbes
Member
Member # 28

 - posted      Profile for hobbes     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Or here, with stripes replacing red and spot, yellow.

 -

Posts: 12499 | From: East of Ealing | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Alania Vladikavkaz Satie
Member
Member # 1570

 - posted      Profile for Alania Vladikavkaz Satie     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ive always placed one colour at the front then the other in the two places behind then alternated all the way round. Looks a lot nicer anyway.
Posts: 1754 | From: The Magic Carpet. | Registered: Jun 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
  This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   

   Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | WSC

Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classic™ 6.7.2

    This board has been transferred to www.wsc.co.uk,

    why not join us there